Update on work and stuff

hey there,

Just a quick update on me and my work.

On the me front, jesus titty-fucking christ I am sick. like, so sick I literally couldn’t get the strength to roll over in bed for hours at a time. I’m slowly starting to get better-ish, but still, damn.

however, on that note, I resolved a little while ago to have a general approach about my work of,… well, a logical sequence that basically goes:

1: i used to create a lot of material. therefore, i know i technically am capable.
2: I however am not doing so now. this is because of a myriad of reasons, but it is so
3: however again, as I work every day to get back into the productive mindset I used to have, I notice it comes in spurts rather than constant like it used to be
4: therefore, I resolved that whenever I get such a spurt, I drop whatever i’m doing and write. anything. a story, a few lines, an idea for future reference, anything.

using this method over the last couple months I have gone from a couple ideas a week to a few a day. I hope that in time as life improves in general and I work these mental muscles back up to the state they used to be in, I will be able to be as massively creative and productive as I used to be and then, well, hooray, I win, basically.

to that end, I woke up very sick at 4 in the morning, needed to use some emergency meds which have the side effect of making me wired as all hell so going back to sleep was out of the question…. so instead, I decided to daydream

and I started to get ideas, which grew, and grew, and then I grabbed this tablet and started writing a second novel.

its actually moderately long now, 10k+ words. just… wrote it as i felt it, just like the good old days.

so if I can do that while I am so sick I genuinely am worried I might die this week, well if I recover and continue to improve, hell, I’m excited. I’ll be pumping out material so fast and just… yee! 😀

if you’re curious, the new novel is one i’ve sorta had in the back of my head for a while now: it’d be either structured as a collection of short stories or just sorta broken up into chunks, all about various first contacts we make with several of the major races in my fictional works. (my books and stories etc all take place after contact, and fans and friends have asked what contact must have been like. got me thinking. so, I started to write about it)

so, yeah, that’s another book you can look forward to at some point in the future here.

I’m still determined to finish this first one though, the one done in the crime noir style but in my setting of a hypothetical 2130s. and then i have 2 other novels which have tie-in characters to that planned, and I also had a separate trilogy idea, and now this new novel of today.

then of course, the vast list of other projects i want to work on.

so, point is: shit is getting done. slowly, but it’s happening.

fuck yeah. 🙂

Leave a comment